Judging Committees

Executive Judging Committee at the 2019 Giant Jamboree.

Executive Judging Committee

Beth Beason-Abmayr

Committee Member

Teaching Professor of BioSciences, Rice University
Beth has a Ph.D. in Physiology & Biophysics and is a National Academies Education Mentor in the Life Sciences. She teaches multiple course-based undergraduate research experiences (CUREs) as well as a student-centered course in animal physiology. A founding leader of the Rice iGEM team, she has been the faculty advisor since 2006. Beth has been judging iGEM since 2011, including co-head judge at two regional jamborees, and has served on the Executive Judging Committee since 2014.

Janie Brennan

Committee Member

Lecturer of Energy, Environmental & Chemical Engineering at Washington University in St. Louis
Janie was originally an iGEMer as an undergrad at Purdue (2007-2009). She then helped mentor the Purdue team from 2010-2015 and has been the WashU faculty advisor since 2015. Janie has been judging iGEM since 2011, including the inaugural high school Jamborees, and has served on the Executive Judging Committee since 2014. Her PhD is in Chemical Engineering, and her research interests are primarily in engineering education.

Nils-Christian Lübke

Committee Member

Doctoral candidate at the Center for Biotechnology (CeBiTec), Bielefeld University
Nils’s research is focused on bacterial regulatory networks. He also lectures high school classes in biotechnology. Nils has been part of the iGEM community since 2010, as a member (2010) and then supervisor (2011-2014) of Bielefeld’s collegiate teams. His judging experience comprises regional (2013) and championship judging (2014, 2015). He has served on the Executive Judging Committee since 2016.

Jessica C. M. Tang

Committee Member

Teaching Associate in Division of Life Science, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology
Jessica has a PhD in Microbiology. She teaches several undergraduate lecture courses, including a blended learning course as well as an experiential lab course. She has been an iGEM instructor for the iGEM HKUST team since 2010, served as an iGEM judge since 2015 and is a member of the Executive Judging Committee since 2017.​

Christopher Workman

Committee Member

Associate Professor, Technical University of Denmark (DTU)
Chris Workman is an Associate Professor at DTU Bioengineering and has supervised iGEM teams since 2010. His research interests are in genomics, modeling and gene regulation of stress, and he teaches Synthetic Biology and Systems Biology.

Patrick Wu

Committee Member

Life Science Marketing Consultant
Patrick has a Master's of Biomedical Technology from the University of Calgary and has participated in the Calgary iGEM team from 2010-2013. He has also judged since 2013 and continues to support Alberta high school and collegiate iGEM teams as a guest lecturer for the geekStarter program.

Judging Corps Committee

Paul James

Committee Chair

Vice Chancellors Senior Fellow, Hub for Biotechnology in the Built Environment, Northumbria University
Paul has been an advisor and one of the principal investigators of the Exeter iGEM team since 2013. He believes iGEM not only sparked his interest in synthetic biology but is one of the major reasons he was able to start his own lab looking at the use of synthetic biology in the built environment. Paul has been involved in iGEM judging since 2014 serving one year as a poster judge before becoming a track judge and attending every giant jamboree since

Nancy Burgess Christen

Committee Member

Nancy is an independent consultant and has a PhD in Molecular Biophysics. Her career in the US Government began as a Presidential Management Fellow managing a portfolio to develop therapeutics and ended as a senior policy analyst. She is currently raising a large family on the coast of North Carolina, USA. She first judged for iGEM in 2011 and remains committed to science advancement and education.

Patrick Diep

Committee Member

PhD Student (Chemical Engineering), University of Toronto
Patrick explores synthetic biology strategies for recovering metals from mine wastewater, and best teaching practices for undergraduate synthetic biology. He also dabbles in the start-up space by co-founding a company to 3D-print soil for hydroponics. He has been with iGEM since 2015 in multiple roles and found judging to be the most fulfilling, and loves creating things to learn more about them, and teaching students to think outside the box.

Daisuke Kiga

Committee Member

Professor, Waseda University
Dice-K received a Ph.D in the Department of Biophysics and Biochemistry, the University of Tokyo in 1999. He was an iGEM team PI 2006-2015 and 2020. He also served as an iGEM judge 2010-2015 and 2017-2018. His research interests are design of genetic circuit and engineering of genetic codes.

Kyle Rothschild-Mancinelli

Committee Member

Oliva Sánchez Montesinos

Committee Member

Sales Representative, First Quality Chemicals
Oliva became part of the iGEM community in 2014 as a team member of the Tecnológico de Monterrey CEM first collegiate team and has since then been involved as an advisor and instructor for both high school and Undergraduate teams. She has been a judge at the iGEM Giant Jamboree since 2018. Oliva currently works in First Quality Chemicals as a Sales Representative for the Personal Care and Pharmaceutical Industry throughout Latin America.

Cross Committee Members

Peter Carr

Director of Judging

Senior Staff, MIT Lincoln Laboratory, Bioengineering Group
Peter wears many hats in iGEM, spanning the committees for judging, responsible conduct, safety, and human practices. In his day job he sits at the technical intersection of synthetic biology, microfluidics, and biosecurity. Peter has been involved with iGEM since 2004.

Traci Haddock-Angelli

iGEM HQ Committee Liaison

Director of the Competition, iGEM Foundation
Traci has a Ph.D. in Microbiology and has worked at iGEM HQ as a Fellow, the Director of Technology, and now the Director of the Competition. Traci oversees all aspects of the iGEM Competition and is working to ensure that all of our teams have a successful iGEM season.

Vinoo Selvarajah

iGEM HQ Committee Liaison

Director of the Registry, iGEM Foundation
Vinoo has worked at iGEM HQ as a lab technician, Generalist, and now the Director of the Registry. He works on the distribution kits, parts and the Registry.